Saturday, December 09, 2006

John Conyers vote against resolution condemning Cop-Killer.

Politics: Along with 30 other Democrats. James Taranto brings up the interesting point about Conyers.

Cop Killer's Caucus The House yesterday passed a resolution "condemning the decision of St. Denis, France, to name a street in honor of Mumia Abu-Jamal, the convicted murder [sic] of Philadelphia Police Office Danny Faulkner." The vote was 368-31, with 8 members voting "present." Here's a list of what one might call the Cop-Killer's Caucus, the congressmen who voted against the resolution, all Democrats: Neil Abercrombie (Hawaii) Carolyn Kilpatrick (Mich.) Robert Scott (Va.) William Clay (Mo.) Barbara Lee (Calif.) Jose Serrano (N.Y.) Emanuel Cleaver (Mo.) Cynthia McKinney (Ga.) Fortney Hillman Stark Jr. (Calif.) John Conyers (Mich.) Gregory Meeks (N.Y.) Edolphus Towns (N.Y.) Jim Cooper (Tenn.) Jerrold Nadler (N.Y.) Tom Udall (N.M.) Danny Davis (Ill.) James Oberstar (Minn.) Nydia Velazquez (N.Y.) Raul Grijalva (Ariz.) Major Owens (N.Y.) Maxine Waters (Calif.) Maurice Hinchey (N.Y.) Ed Pastor (Ariz.) Anthony Weiner (N.Y.) Mike Honda (Calif.) Donald Payne (N.J.) Lynn Woolsey (Calif.) Jesse Jackson Jr. (Ill.) Charles Rangel (N.Y.) Eddie Bernice Johnson (Texas) Bobby Rush (Ill.) The "present" votes came from Sam Farr (Calif.), Al Green (Texas), Luis Gutierrez (Ill.), Sheila Jackson-Lee (Texas), John Lewis (Ga.), George Miller (Calif.), Janice Schakowsky (Ill.) and Melvin Watt (N.C.). Tellingly, every member of the Pennsylvania delegation who was present voted "yes." The most disturbing name on the "no" list is that of John Conyers. Granted, this is only a symbolic vote, but is it really a good idea to entrust the chairmanship of the Judiciary Committee to a man who casts a symbolic vote for a cop-killer and against his victim?

Copyright Narbosa 1998-2006
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by